Sun, 01 Aug | Beethoven - A Salon Eroica

Filmed concert: Beethoven: Une Eroica de Salon

Ensemble Hexameron: Luca Montebugnoli piano Rosenberger, Roldan Bernabé violin, Nicolas Bouils flute, Corinne Raymond-Jarczyk viola, Amaryllis Jarczyk Cello & Benjamin D’Anfray piano
Les inscriptions sont closes
Filmed concert: Beethoven: Une Eroica de Salon

Heure et lieu

01 Aug, 18:00
Beethoven - A Salon Eroica

À propos de l'événement

Symphony n ° 3 “Eroica” op.55 (1804), arranged by JN Hummel, F. Ries, C.Czerny, Ensemble Hexameron

I Allegro con brio, (arr. JN Hummel)

II Marcia funebre - Adagio assai, (arr. F. Ries)

III Scherzo - Allegro vivace, Alla Breve, Tempo primo, (Arr. C. Czerny)

IV Final - Allegro molto, Poco Andante, Presto (Arr. Hexameron)

If the contemporary collective imagination places Beethoven's third symphony “Eroica” at the peak of its production by the density of its orchestral writing and the size of its staff, the work was mainly discovered through reductions for piano or arrangements. for small groups, except the public who attended its premiere on April 7, 1805 at the Theater an der Wien.

For the Eroica the first arrangements were published as early as 1807, just a few months after the publication of the orchestral parts: one for piano four hands by the German composer AE Müller and one for piano, violin, viola and cello published in Vienna without clarification on the identity of the arranger. Other versions, performed by well-known musicians close to Beethoven, soon appeared in the following years: C. Czerny published in 1810 an arrangement for two pianos, F. Ries a new version for piano, violin , viola and cello circa 1820 and JN Hummel another for piano, flute, violin and cello circa 1826.

The concert of the Hexaméron Ensemble proposes to evoke the reception of Beethoven's symphonic masterpiece in the first decades which followed its creation, by staging the metamorphoses which must have marked its distribution in the salons of the 'time. Each movement will be presented in a different arrangement.

The first movement will be offered in a reduction for solo piano performed by Luca Montebugnoli, who will try to reconstitute the effect that the same Beethoven must have had during the first known "performance" of the symphony, when he arranged it himself. at his piano Erard for F. Ries. On this occasion, the young musician, then a student of Beethoven, predicted: "Heaven and earth will tremble at its execution".


  • 3,650 hours

    Diffusion sur la plate-forme, Ticket à 5,99$ replay illimité
Les inscriptions sont closes