Lelio.JPG

Newspaper

LNA-Nom-Blanc.png

IN THE PRESS

 

Classica April 2021 Fabienne Bouvet - Disc Chopin-Franchomme E.Torbianelli & F. Caida-Greco

“"Far from the lyrical versions given on modern instruments, the spirit of the salon dominates here [...] his way of privileging not the melody but the harmony, underlining all the inventiveness of the composer - Chopin's Nocturne op.48 no.2, tightrope walker and delicate, Franchomme's Nocturne op.14 no.2, of a sensitivity to weep. What can be said, finally, of the marvellous rubato with which the pianist constantly irrigates his sophisticated but natural discourse? Has anyone ever heard such a scansion in Chopin?» To order on our site

Diapason April 2021 - Bertrand Boissard For the glory of the romantic piano

The association La Nouvelle Athenes intends to promote knowledge of 19th century keyboards, under the most diverse aspects: design, history, modes of play, interpretation ...

[ …] The modes of interpretation on old instruments however require more than a simple adaptation: they imply, for purely mechanical reasons (like the absence of the double escapement), but also aesthetic, other habits, another state. of spirit. It is on this observation that Sylvie Brély, founder of Zig-Zag Territoires records and former director of the keyboards department of the Royaumont foundation, founded La Nouvelle Athens. […] In this dialogue between musicians, collectors, masters of art, restorers and music lovers, New Athens is now asserting itself as a major player in the craze for old pianos. By this return to the sources, it is a little of the Paris of Chopin, Sand and Delacroix which is reborn.

October 2020 - France Musique - Connected music, Suzanne Gervais

New Athens may well pamper old pianos, it has just launched its video streaming platform. The first dates are all devoted to Beethoven's piano music.
Also, and this is more than uncertain given the health context, a festival, a real one, organized by the Center des Pianos Romantiques, must take place in Paris, Salle Colonne, on November 8 and 9.
Several events are in any case already online: masterclasses, playlists, musicological videos, for all ages, to discover or deepen your knowledge of romantic musical playing and dive into the fascinating history of early pianos. of the 19th century, an abundant period, all over the place, a troubled period, intense if ever there was one.

It is a paid streaming offer but it is a small investment that will appeal to perhaps the most passionate music lovers and pianists who wish to specialize in this repertoire and to rub shoulders with the historically informed playing.

Listen to the broadcast: https://www.francemusique.fr/emissions/musique-connectee/une-plateforme-de-streaming-dediee-aux-pianos-romantiques-88190

June 2020 - Musikzen, Franck Mallet

"We thus go from an elegant sentimental Nocturne by Czerny to an arrangement by Liszt of the famous lied Auf dem Wasser by Schubert, to Funérailles, the seventh piece of Liszt's Poetic and Religious Harmonies, a no less famous march conceived as a poem. symphonic, brilliantly performed by Olga Pashchenko. If the Chopin des deux Valses op. 69, from the Fantaisie-Impromptu op. 66 and the Prelude op. 28 n ° 8 is familiar to us, on the other hand Edoardo Torbianelli gives life to this rare favorite theme of La Norma de Bellini by Franco-German Kalkbrenner (1785-1849) - darling of the salons which impressed the young Chopin. »Franck Mallet

 

May 2020 - Diapason, Jérôme Bastianelli

A review emphasizing "the elegance and atmosphere of romantic salons favorable to experimentation: Olga Pashchenko pushes" old Erard 1838 to his limits in Liszt's Funeral ", Edoardo Torbianelli engages in" original but convincing dynamic oppositions in Chopin's Fantaisie-Impromptu ", Laura Granero " highlights some fleeting counterpoints ", the Lélio ensemble (Benjamin d'Anfray, Lucie Arnal, Roberta Cristini, Jeanne Mendoche) present" a dialogue as tasty as it is unexpected from the soprano and the clarinet "from the aria of Freischutz ..." Jérôme Bastianelli

 

January 2020 - Le Figaro, Christian Merlin

“Concerts off the beaten track” Showing imagination and creativity, private producers come up with incredible projects.

“… Here is La Nouvelle Athens, founded by Sylvie Brély, former director of a record company who is passionate about vintage pianos: the weekend of the inauguration of the fascinating Erard square piano of 1806 acquired by her association, from 7 to February 9 (Salle Cortot and Reid Hall), will be the prelude to a series of concerts which will enrich our knowledge of the romantic keyboard ”

 

December 2019 - All Culture, Gilles Charlassier

“More than ever, La Nouvelle Athens is asserting itself as a melting pot of rediscovery and sharing. "

December 2019 - All Culture, Gilles Charlassier

"Jewel of the Ecole Normale de Musique, founded by one of the greatest French pianists and pedagogues of the first half of the twentieth century, who moreover bequeathed its name to it, the Salle Cortot and its intimate acoustics, appreciated as the one of the best for the chamber repertoire, on the eve of the end of the year celebrations, hosts a series of three concerts by New Athens - Center des pianos romantiques, an association initiated by Sylvie Brély who brings to life, on period instruments, the first decades of the piano, and the wealth of technical experiments forgotten by the standards that today's large halls generally impose. If this quest for authenticity has become part of musical mores for the baroque repertoire, it is still rather reserved for museography and recording for the romantic piano. It is one of the challenges of this melting pot of artists, musicologists, luthiers and restorers, to give life back to the concert, to these colors and expressiveness in tune with what the composers themselves could hear and imagine - the first disc produced by La Nouvelle Athens, just released, published by Son an ero and which resuscitates an evening in a romantic Parisian salon on an Erard from 1838, was also burned in public at the Petit Palais last June. "

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

September 2019 - Classicagenda, Julien Bordas

Monday, September 23, a discreet inner courtyard in the 20th arrondissement is buzzing around the piano. More exactly the romantic piano. The association "La Nouvelle Athens - Center des pianos romantiques" has set up in the premises of Arcal (National Company of Lyrical and Musical Theater) for a few hours to evoke the 18th century pianofortes. The participants are recognized keyboardists: we meet Martin Gester, Aurélien Delage, Aline Zylberajch, Philippe Grisvard, or even Jean-Luc Ho . Letter carriers and musicians complete the assistance.

Objective of the association? Allow a rereading of the romantic repertoire on period pianos, promote access for pianists to instruments dating from 1750 to 1850, and share knowledge on the subject with the public and among its members. The latter are made up of harpsichordists, pianists, collectors, restorers, musicologists, and music lovers.

…. Like an organ, the tone possibilities of the pianoforte seem endless! The next meetings of The New Athens promise to be captivating.

 

Diapason February 2019 - Old pianos file, Alain Lompech

Is His Majesty Steinway about to be dethroned? More and more musicians, collectors and concert organizers are interested in pianos from the Romantic era and their unique sounds. Three days of festival, in Paris, these days testify to this quest for origins.

In the summer of 2018, the Warsaw Chopin Competition, the most prestigious of all, was combined for the first time with a competition on old pianos that will continue to exist. Could one imagine a more dazzling way of defending the cause of this return to basics, as also evidenced by the meetings organized by the Royaumont Foundation in its lands of the Val d'Oise, as in more Parisian places.

The New Athens Festival. Paris, Salle Cortot, February 2 and 3, Maison Heinrich Heine, February 4.

Press contact

Bettina sadoux

BS Artist Management & Communication

bettina.sadoux@bs-artist.com

+33 6 72 82 72 67

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

bs-artist.com

Lelio.JPG

Revue de presse

LNA-Nom-Blanc.png

LA PRESSE EN PARLE

 

Classica Avril 2021 Fabienne Bouvet - Disque Chopin-Franchomme E.Torbianelli & F.Caida-Greco

« Loin des versions lyriques données sur instruments modernes, l’esprit de salon domine ici… […] sa façon de privilégier non pas la mélodie mais l’harmonie, soulignant toute l’inventivité du compositeur – Nocturne op.48 n°2 de Chopin funambule et délicat, Nocturne op.14 n°2 de Franchomme, d’une sensibilité à pleure. Que dire, enfin, de ce merveilleux rubato dont le pianiste irrigue sans cesse son discours, sophistiqué mais naturel ? A-t-on déjà entendu pareille scansion chez Chopin ? »  A commander sur notre site

Diapason Avril 2021 – Bertrand Boissard Pour la gloire du piano romantique

L’association La Nouvelle Athènes entend favoriser la connaissance des claviers du XIXe siècle, sous les aspects les plus divers : facture, histoire, modes de jeu, interprétation…

[…] les modes d’interprétation sur instruments anciens nécessitent cependant plus qu’une simple adaptation : ils impliquent, pour des raisons purement mécanique (comme l’absence du double échappement) , mais aussi esthétiques, d’autres habitudes, un autre état d’esprit. C’est sur ce constat que Sylvie Brély, fondatrice des disques Zig-Zag Territoires et ancienne directrice du département claviers de la fondation Royaumont, a fondé La Nouvelle Athènes. […]Dans ce dialogue entre musiciens, collectionneurs, maîtres d’art, restaurateurs et mélomanes, La Nouvelle Athènes s’affirme aujourd’hui comme un acteur majeur de l’engouement pour les pianos anciens. Par ce retour aux sources, c’est un peu du Paris de Chopin, Sand et Delacroix qui renaît.

Octobre 2020 France Musique Musique connectée, Suzanne Gervais

La Nouvelle Athènes a beau bichonner des pianos anciens, elle vient de lancer sa plateforme de streaming vidéo. Les premiers rendez-vous sont tous consacrés à la musique pour piano de Beethoven.
Egalement, et c’est plus qu’incertain au vu du contexte sanitaire, un festival, un vrai, organisé par le Centre des Pianos Romantiques, doit avoir lieu à Paris, salle Colonne, les 8 et 9 novembre.
Plusieurs rendez-vous sont en tout cas d’ores et déjà en ligne : des masterclasses, des playlists, des vidéos musicologiques, tout public, pour découvrir ou approfondir ses connaissances du jeu musical romantique et plonger dans l’histoire passionnante des pianos du début du XIXe siècle, période foisonnante, tous azimuts, période troublée, intense s’il en fut.

C’est une offre de streaming payante mais c'est un petit investissement qui séduira peut-être les mélomanes les plus passionnés et les pianistes qui souhaitent se spécialiser dans ce répertoire et se frotter au jeu historiquement informé.

Réécouter l'émision : https://www.francemusique.fr/emissions/musique-connectee/une-plateforme-de-streaming-dediee-aux-pianos-romantiques-88190

Juin 2020 – Musikzen, Franck Mallet

« On passe ainsi d’un élégant Nocturne sentimental de Czerny à un arrangement par Liszt du célèbre lied Auf dem Wasser de Schubert, jusqu’à Funérailles, septième pièce des Harmonies poétiques et religieuses de Liszt, une marche non moins fameuse conçue comme un poème symphonique, interprétée brillamment par Olga Pashchenko. Si le Chopin des deux Valses op. 69, de la Fantaisie-Impromptu op. 66 et du Prélude op. 28 n° 8 nous est familier, en revanche Edoardo Torbianelli redonne vie à ce rare Thème favori de La Norma de Bellini du Franco-allemand Kalkbrenner (1785-1849) – coqueluche des salons qui impressionna le jeune Chopin. » Franck Mallet 

 

Mai 2020 – Diapason, Jérôme Bastianelli 

Une critique soulignant  « l'élégance et l'ambiance des salons romantiques favorables aux expérimentations : Olga Pashchenko pousse "le vieil Erard 1838 dans ses retranchements dans les Funerailles de Liszt", Edoardo Torbianelli se livre à "d'originales mais convaincantes oppositions dynamiques dans la Fantaisie-Impromptu de Chopin", Laura Granero"met en lumière quelques contre-points fugaces", l'ensemble Lélio (Benjamin d'Anfray , Lucie Arnal, Roberta Cristini,Jeanne Mendoche) présentent "un dialogue aussi savoureux qu'inattendu de la soprano et de la clarinette" de l'air du Freischutz... » Jérôme Bastianelli

 

Janvier 2020 – Le Figaro, Christian Merlin  

«  Des concerts hors des sentiers battus » Faisant preuve d’imagination et de créativité, les producteurs privés proposent d’incroyables projets. 

« … Voici La Nouvelle Athènes, fondée par Sylvie Brély, ancienne directrice de maison de disques qui se passionne pour les pianos d’époque : le week-end d’inauguration du fascinant piano carré Erard de 1806 acquis par son association, du 7 au 9 février (Salle Cortot et Reid Hall), sera le prélude à une série de concerts qui vont enrichir notre connaissance du clavier romantique » 

 

Décembre 2019 – Toute La Culture, Gilles Charlassier 

« Plus que jamais, La Nouvelle Athènes s’affirme comme un creuset de redécouvertes et de partage. » 

Décembre 2019 Toute La Culture, Gilles Charlassier 

« Joyau de l’Ecole Normale de Musique, fondée par un des plus grands pianistes et pédagogues français de la première moitié du vingtième siècle, qui lui a d’ailleurs légué son nom, la salle Cortot et son acoustique intimiste, appréciée comme l’une des meilleures pour le répertoire de chambre, accueille en cette veille de fêtes de fin d’année une série de trois concerts de la Nouvelle Athènes – Centre des pianos romantiques, association initiée par Sylvie Brély qui fait revivre, sur instruments d’époque, les premières décennies du piano, et la richesse des expérimentations techniques oubliées par les standards que les grandes salles d’aujourd’hui imposent généralement. Si ce travail de quête d’authenticité est entré dans les mœurs musicales pour le répertoire baroque, il reste encore passablement réservé à la muséographie et à l’enregistrement pour le piano romantique. C’est l’un des enjeux de ce creuset d’artistes, musicologues, luthiers et restaurateurs, que de redonner corps, au concert, à ces couleurs et expressivités au diapason de ce que les compositeurs ont pu eux-mêmes entendre et imaginer – le premier disque enfanté par La Nouvelle Athènes, juste sorti, édité par Son an ero et qui ressuscite une soirée d’un salon romantique parisien sur un Erard de 1838, a d’ailleurs été gravé en public au Petit Palais en juin dernier. » 

Septembre 2019 Classicagenda, Julien Bordas 

Lundi 23 septembre, une discrète cour intérieure du XXème arrondissement connaît une effervescence autour du piano. Plus exactement le piano romantique. L’association “La Nouvelle Athènes – Centre des pianos romantiques” s’est installée dans les locaux de l’Arcal (Compagnie nationale de théâtre lyrique et musical) pour quelques heures afin d’évoquer les pianofortes XVIIIème. Les participants sont des claviéristes reconnus : on y croise Martin Gester, Aurélien Delage, Aline Zylberajch, Philippe Grisvard, ou encore Jean-Luc Ho. Facteurs et musiciens complètent l’assistance. 

Objectif de l’association ? Permettre une relecture du répertoire romantique sur les pianos d’époque, favoriser l’accès aux pianistes à des instruments datant de 1750 à 1850, et partager les connaissances en la matière avec le public et entre ses membres. Ces derniers sont constitués de clavecinistes, pianistes, collectionneurs, restaurateurs, musicologues, et mélomanes. 

…. A l’instar d’un orgue, les possibilités de timbres du pianoforte semblent infinies ! Les prochaines rencontres de La Nouvelle Athènes promettent d’être captivantes. 

 

Diapason Février 2019 – Dossier pianos anciens, Alain Lompech 

Sa majesté Steinway est-elle en passe d'être détrônée ? De plus en plus de musiciens, collectionneurs ou organisateurs de concerts s'intéressent aux pianos de l'époque romantique et à leurs sonorités singulières. Trois jours de festival, à Paris, témoignent ces jours-ci de cette quête des origines. 

A l'été 2018, le Concours Chopin de Varsovie, le plus prestigieux de tous, se doublait pour la première fois d'une compétition sur pianos anciens appelée à se perpétuer. Pouvait-on imaginer plus éclatant moyen de défendre la cause de ce retour aux sources, dont témoignent aussi les rencontres organisées par la Fondation Royaumont en ses terres du Val d'Oise, comme dans des lieux plus parisiens. 

Festival La Nouvelle Athènes. Paris, salle Cortot, les 2 et 3 février, Maison Heinrich Heine, le 4 février. 

Contact presse

 

Bettina Sadoux

BS Artist Management & Communication

 

bettina.sadoux@bs-artist.com

+33 6 72 82 72 67

bs-artist.com

© 2018 - 2021 La Nouvelle Athènes - Centre des Pianos Romantiques