Lelio.JPG

Square piano Erard 1806

LNA-Nom-Blanc.png

ONE OF THE FIRST FRENCH ROMANTIC PIANOS ACCESSIBLE TO PIANISTS

Inauguration on February 7, 8, 9, 2020

There is no collection of period pianos accessible to keyboardists in Paris; period pianos from higher education establishments being reserved for students, museum collections for programmed pianists.

 

Pianists therefore have no instruments to perfect themselves once their studies have been completed… A hell of a paradox!

 

 

 

This Érard 1806 square piano allows pianists to deepen their knowledge of romantic aesthetics and to introduce us to an extremely diverse sound world.

This 1806 square piano is a formidable tool for rediscovering the vast pianistic repertoire of the 1st Empire which is still largely unknown. The multiplicity of the instrument's sound registers will in particular make it possible to update the taste for the picturesque and the experiments with timbre and color specific to the works of the great "Parisian" pianists, French and not, of the time, such as Dussek, Steibelt, Louis Adam, Hélène de Montgeroult, Hyacinthe Jadin, etc.

 

The instrument was purchased by M. Méreau for Mme Fourcade in Paris on June 18, 1806. The instrument belonged to Madame Jeanne Hatto (1879-1958), singer in the first half of the 20th century, then to the Merlin family. It was acquired by La Nouvelle Athens - Center des pianos romantiques in March 2018, Christopher Clarke delivered the restored piano for its inauguration on February 7, 2020 at the Salle Cortot in Paris.

RESTORATION BY THE MASTER OF ART CHRISTOPHER CLARKE

We have successfully launched a donation campaign of up to € 4,000 to restore the altered pieces discovered during the restoration.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Indeed, after measurements, dismantling of the piano by the Master of Art Christopher Clarke, it appears a restoration carried out at the end of the XIXth century, which replaced the pedals by knee pads, which transformed the fittings of bassoon sets. and lute and altered the keyboard.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Christopher Clarke recommended in July 2018 "to reconstitute a pedal board; it would be easy to leave the knee pads in place, as witnesses of an intervention which deserves its place in the history of the rediscovery of the piano-forte. Nevertheless, I propose, for reasons of musical authenticity, to reconstitute a pedalboard and to change the fittings of the bassoon and the lute set.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Christopher Clarke found over the course of the restoration other altered or damaged pieces; a plinth to be rebuilt in mahogany wood from Santo Domingo, the hammer heads to be replenished with skins, the varnish to be redone with buffer varnish ... These complications extended the restoration time by 50%.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The Erard 1806 square piano is now fully restored and available at ARCAL for initiations with Luca Montebugnoli, training workshops in July 2021 as well as for your personal projects upon presentation to the La Nouvelle Athènes steering committee.

RENAISSANCE OF A HERITAGE FOR PIANISTS AND THE PUBLIC

This Erard 1806 square piano has 4 stops (lute, forte, celestial, bassoon) which bring a diversity of exceptional sound colors, the culmination of an aesthetic of feelings - terrifying or poetic -, witnesses of an era turned upside down by the Revolution, the Terror, the Napoleonic Empire…

 

By giving, you allow

  • to preserve the French instrumental heritage,

  • pianists to access an extremely rare instrument, the founder of the pianistic game,

  • to the association La Nouvelle Athènes - Center of Romantic Pianos to make progressively accessible a collection of general interest, of pianos of time (French, Germanic, English) covering the romantic repertoire 1750 - 1850…

 

You are participating in an avant-garde movement around a new romantic piano culture ...

 

The restorations of the Sistine Chapel in Rome have opened up new chromatic perceptions and a renewed understanding of the Renaissance, as well the rediscovery of the original sounds of period pianos helps to place themselves in the aesthetics and in the gestures of composers and pianists of the romantic era…

Erard 1806 Cordes et claviers
Erard_1806_étiquette_-_copie
IMG_3846.JPG
Erard_1806_centré_-_light
Erard 1806 C.Clarke - copie
IMG_3826
IMG_3777
Erard 1806 Cordes et claviers - copie

Dated 1805 on the soundboard, 1806 on the counter

Range: FF-c5, fa to do, 69 notes

Mechanical with double pilots

4 knee pads: lute, forte, celestial (FF-d3), bassoon (FF-c1)

Bi-strings: 9 brass choirs, 16 brass choirs, 44 iron choirs

Gauges marked on the soundboard at the ankles

Length: 1615 mm (without underbody moldings)

Width: 592 mm (without underbody moldings)

Body height: 235 mm (without cover)

Keyboard width: 921 mm

Width 3 octaves: 484 mm (fa to fa); 483 mm (do to do)

FF string length: 1474 mm

Lelio.JPG

Piano carré Erard 1806

LNA-Nom-Blanc.png

UN DES PREMIERS PIANOS ROMANTIQUES FRANÇAIS ACCESSIBLES AUX PIANISTES

Inauguration les 7, 8, 9 février 2020

Il n’existe pas de collection de pianos d’époque accessible aux claviéristes à Paris ; les pianos d’époque des établissements supérieurs étant réservés aux étudiants, les collections des musées aux pianistes programmés.

 

Les pianistes n’ont donc pas d’instruments pour se perfectionner une fois leurs études achevées… Un sacré paradoxe !

 

 

Ce piano carré Érard 1806 permet aux pianistes d’approfondir leur connaissance de l’esthétique romantique et de nous faire découvrir un monde sonore extrêmement diversifié.

Ce piano carré 1806 est un outil formidable pour redécouvrir le vaste répertoire pianistique du 1er Empire encore en grande partie méconnu. La multiplicité des registres sonores de l'instrument permettra notamment de remettre à jour le goût pour le pittoresque et les expérimentations de timbre et couleur propres aux œuvres des grand pianistes "parisiens", français et non, de l'époque, tel que Dussek, Steibelt, Louis Adam, Hélène de Montgeroult, Hyacinthe Jadin, etc.

 

L’instrument a été acheté par M. Méreau pour Mme Fourcade à Paris le 18 juin 1806. L’instrument a appartenu à Madame Jeanne Hatto (1879-1958), cantatrice dans la première moitié du XXe siècle, puis à la famille Merlin. Il est acquis par La Nouvelle Athènes - Centre des pianos romantiques en mars 2018, Christopher Clarke a livré le piano restauré pour son inauguration le 7 février 2020 à la Salle Cortot à Paris.

RESTAURATION PAR LE MAÎTRE D'ART CHRISTOPHER CLARKE

Nous avons lancé avec succès une campagne de dons à hauteur de 4 000€ pour restaurer les pièces altérées découvertes pendant la restauration.

En effet, après mesures, démontage du piano par le Maître d’Art Christopher Clarke, il apparaît une restauration effectuée à la fin du XIXe siècle, qui a remplacé les pédales par des genouillères, qui a transformé les garnitures de jeux de basson et luth et a altéré le clavier.

Christopher Clarke recommandait en juillet 2018 "de reconstituer un pédalier; il serait aisé de laisser les genouillères en place, comme témoins d’une intervention qui mérite sa place dans l’histoire de la redécouverte du piano-forte. Néanmoins, je propose, pour des raisons d’authenticité musicale, de reconstituer un pédalier et de changer les garnitures du basson et du jeu de luth.

Christopher Clarke a trouvé au fur et à mesure de la restauration d'autres pièces altérées ou endommagées; une plinthe à reconstruire en bois d'acajou de Saint Domingue, les têtes de marteaux à regarnir en peaux, le vernis à refaire au vernis tampon... Ces complications ont allongé le temps de restauration de 50%.

Le piano carré Erard 1806 est aujourd'hui entièrement restauré et disponible à l'ARCAL pour des initiations avec Luca Montebugnoli, des ateliers de formation en juillet 2021 ainsi que pour vos projets personnels sur présentation au comité de pilotage de La Nouvelle Athènes

RENAISSANCE D'UN PATRIMOINE POUR LES PIANISTES ET LE PUBLIC

Ce piano carré Érard 1806 possède 4 jeux (luth, forte, céleste, basson) qui apportent une diversité de couleurs sonores exceptionnelles, apogée d’une esthétique des sentiments, terrifiants ou poétiques, témoins d’une époque bouleversée par la Révolution, la Terreur, l’Empire Napoléonien.

 

En donnant, vous permettez

  • de préserver le patrimoine instrumental français,

  • aux pianistes d’accéder à un instrument extrêmement rare, fondateur du jeu pianistique,

  • à l'association La Nouvelle Athènes – Centre des pianos romantiques de rendre progressivement accessible une collection d’intérêt général, de pianos d’époque (français, germaniques, anglais) couvrant le répertoire romantique 1750 – 1850

 

Vous participez à un mouvement d’avant-garde autour d’une nouvelle culture du piano romantique.

 

Les restaurations de la Chapelle Sixtine à Rome ont ouvert de nouvelles perceptions chromatiques et une compréhension renouvelée de la Renaissance, de même la redécouverte des sons originaux des pianos d’époque aide à se replacer dans l’esthétique et dans les gestes des compositeurs et des pianistes de l’époque romantique…

Erard 1806 Cordes et claviers
Erard_1806_étiquette_-_copie
IMG_3846.JPG
Erard_1806_centré_-_light
Erard 1806 C.Clarke - copie
IMG_3826
IMG_3777
Erard 1806 Cordes et claviers - copie

Daté 1805 sur la table d’harmonie, 1806 sur le guichet

Étendue : FF-c5, fa à do, 69 notes - Mécanique à double pilotes - 4 genouillères : luth, forte, céleste (FF-d3), basson (FF-c1)

Bi-cordes : 9 chœurs filés laiton, 16 chœurs laiton, 44 chœurs fer - Marteaux en peaux de chamoix,

Table harmonie Epicea, Clavier Ivoire, Etiquette Citronier, Bois d'Acajou de Saint Domingue

Jauges marquées sur la table d’harmonie au niveau des chevilles

Longueur : 1615 mm (sans moulures de bas de caisse), Largeur : 592 mm (sans moulures de bas de caisse), Hauteur de caisse : 235 mm (sans couvercle)

Largeur du clavier : 921 mm Largeur 3 octaves : 484 mm (fa à fa) ; 483 mm (do à do)

Longueur corde FF : 1474 mm